Dr. Braden Leap Wins Alumni Association Graduate and Professional Teaching Excellence Award

Dr. Leap Receiving Award

Excellence in teaching, advising awards honor MSU faculty, staff
Contact: Allison Matthews

STARKVILLE, Miss.—Mississippi State is recognizing faculty and staff with annual awards for exceptional teaching, mentoring and advising, honoring those making a difference in students’ lives.

“Mississippi State’s outstanding award winners exemplify excellence, and they understand that the highest quality teaching is core to our university’s mission,” said MSU Executive Vice Provost Peter Ryan. “The faculty and staff dedicated to teaching, advising and mentoring are critical in helping students achieve their goals.”

This year’s honorees include:

Alumni Association Awards

Jeff Davis presents the Alumni Association Awards to 2022 honorees
Alumni Association Executive Director Jeff Davis (second from left) is pictured with award recipients (l-r) Jake Shivley, John Ramirez-Avila and Braden Leap. (Photo by Beth Wynn)

Alumni Association Graduate and Professional Teaching Excellence Award

—Braden Leap, assistant professor in the Department of Sociology in the College of Arts and Sciences.

—Jake Shivley, associate clinical professor in the Department of Clinical Sciences in the College of Veterinary Medicine.

Alumni Association Outstanding Graduate Student Mentor Award

—John Ramirez-Avila, associate professor in the Richard A. Rula School of Civil and Environmental Engineering in the James Worth Bagley College of Engineering.